This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.6 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
8.8
Property location
7.8
Facilities
8.3
Staff
9.4
Value
8.5
Reviews
    Raymond
    fr
    8.3
    4 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rosanne
    de
    8.3
    16 November 2017
    Very nice, friendly hotel.
    Wasn't the easiest place to find but the location wasn't bad as it is near the underground. My room was very cold but that might have been down to my inability to work the air con unit. Plus I didn't ask them to fix my situation, as I am sure they would have.
    The staff were very nice, very friendly and helpful! The facilities were nice, bathroom and shower were good. Bed was very comfortable The breakfast was fine.
    ch
    4.6
    23 October 2017
    - Bad smell in the rooms (I've tried to change a room but the other one smelled bad too) - cockroaches in the rooms! - rooms are next to the reception and hall/public space so you hear everything that happens in the hotel - no windows! I mean - there are some windows but to the corridor, not the outside. - breakfast is quite poor
    The staff speaks very good English, which is very rare in Beijing (even in 5* hotels)
    nz
    9.2
    15 October 2017
    Very helpful and friendly staff, and not too far from the sites via public transport
    Very accommodating, especially with my very late arrival in to Beijing! Easy access to most sites on the Subway.
    Graham
    be
    10
    18 September 2017
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with a good command of English. They arranged a day trip to the Great Wall at short notice. The property is traditionally decorated, clean, and really comfortable.
    Thomas
    fr
    8.8
    6 September 2017
    Good location, it's easy to reach the hotel with public transportation, the hotel is not very far from the subway (Jishuitan) and also not far from the public bus n°877 (Deshengmen station) going to badaling (great wall) for 12 RMB. Very nice staff, clean room, nice decoration and good breakfast (western and chinese).
    Clémence
    fr
    10
    14 August 2017
    Its the perfect place to stay in Beijing. It feels like home. We will come back ! Thanks
    Everything! From the location to the bedroom and the very caring staff. It was perfect! Its 5mn walk to the closest Subway and all commodities. Good location, and good people you shouldnt miss this place !
    Sandra Steinhauer
    be
    8.3
    29 July 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Joan
    au
    10
    25 July 2017
    A Touch of Old Beijing
    Nothing really to dislike, if you are happy to embrace the olde worlde!
    Accomodation was excellent for our group of 6 including 3 teenagers. Staff were very helpful, breakfast good value. Plenty of eating places within walking distance. Bedrooms quite large, with couch and desk. The central part of the hotel although small was great for reading , coffee etc.
    James Trapp
    gb
    9.2
    20 July 2017
    At home in Beijing
    Nothing. Just a warning that breakfast is a little idiosyncratic and slow to appear
    Quirky, characterful and charming. A great place to stay if you want to find the real Beijing and not be coccooned in the sterility of an international hotel. Very few cons and many pros.
    Rosemary
    us
    9.6
    20 July 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rosemary
    us
    8.8
    5 July 2017
    Peter spoke excellent English , the breakfast was very good and all staff helpful and kind ,
    Charlotte Cox
    ae
    8.3
    2 July 2017
    Lovely little plaace- good location.
    There was a bad smell coming from the bathroom which was not nice. There was little natural light or airvents which did not help the smell.
    The room was lovely and the bed was very comfy. The staff were fab- they accommodated us for two early breakfasts out of the original breakfast timings as we were on tours. There was a small mall at the end of the main road with loads of food options.
    carin
    gb
    10
    18 June 2017
    Home from home elegant hutong style beautiful hotel
    Breakfast was wonderful fresh and variable choice good selection of chinese and european
    Pawel
    gb
    9.2
    5 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Adele
    gb
    9.6
    5 June 2017
    Superb service and ambience, but you'd probably expect this for the price.
    I think it is on the pricey side, when compared to other hotels I stayed in other parts of China.
    I travelled alone to Beijing to meet friends. I was nervous, and had heard that China was "difficult" to travel. Michael's House is built on a courtyard style, all rooms open into a shared patio where there was always at least one member of staff to help. They could not have been more helpful and they took all the anxiety away - providing maps, recommendations, and, most importantly, moral support. It was the best place I have ever stayed - loved it.
    mark
    us
    8.8
    26 May 2017
    Excellent!
    The description mentions a garden view and garden furniture which is not quite accurate as it refers to the courtyard which is a shared area and is not a garden. It can lead to a disappointed feeling and would be more fair if it made this clear by referring to the room opening on to the shared courtyard with seating for guests. Take the advice of the hotel and take a taxi: the metro station is too far away to walk if you have heavy cases and it has no elevators or escalators!
    When I arrived a young lady immediately carried my suitcase in (which was very heavy,) and did not need to ask me anything when I checked in so I felt in capable hands! I was offered free cold fruit juice which is very refreshing on a hot day and my case was taken to my room for me. The room was charming and spotlessly clean, the shower was very hot and I could control the temperature to suit myself. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and cheerful staff: I got insect bites in the night so they provided insect repellant, there is a very good Western-style buffet breakfast, (included in the price) and the hotel is very quiet! The guests tended to be mature people and not the noisy backpackers you tend to find in the hostels downtown! The staff will also offer to call you a taxi! On the whole this is a delightful and very attractive small courtyard hotel! The beds are very comfortable and there is a real personal touch which makes a big difference!
    Rosemary
    au
    8.8
    13 May 2017
    It was a great experience to stay at MIchael's House would recommend except frustration with taxi dr
    Taxis couldn't find his location
    The atmosphere very helpful
    Anne
    cn
    9.2
    25 April 2017
    Location is a bit far from subway about 15/20 min walking. We were travelling with young kids and the walk is not fun. But some bus lines are closer and go direct to drum tower and nearby hutongs: good to know (line 635 if i remember correctly). Return in the end of the day was done in tuktuk within 15 min from drum tower area.
    Lovely hotel, more like a guest house style with only 12 rooms. All rooms give on the patio common area, which remains pretty quiet and relaxing. Staff was extremely helpful and all very friendly. They even helped packing us a breakfast when we left early for a tour on the great wall or warm up our take away dinner that we ate in the patio.
    Agnes
    de
    9.2
    18 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews
Close